Celebrating February 15th-24th

I decided to bundle these days together as they cover the Incident With My Elbow.

The incident occurred on the 15th at the hotel.  I had a lovely massage but when I went to pay there was a torrential rainstorm.  Thinking I should get back as /I had my sister’s keycard, I left the safety of the spa, got drenched and managed to slip on the wet slippery outside corridor.

It was a painful landing for my elbow which cracked off the concrete in a way that will never leave me.  I knew immediately that it was broken and it was.  Five hours later I was in surgery; twenty-eight hours later I was back at my Dad’s and my flight delayed until Thurs so Dad could travel home with me.  I wasn’t happy as I wanted to leave ASAP frankly.  But that said, I saw the benefit of having Dad home with me and I knew it was more about him feeling like he needed to be with me so I waited.

Cherish family indeed.

The following week saw me take visits from concerned relatives, be bathed by my favourite aunt like I was 8 months rather than 38 years old, and essentially let others take care of me.  My independent spirit was slightly irritated but it was all done kindly and with love so to refuse would be churlish.

I ended up flying alone as Dad could only get a flight on another airline.  It was fine – and that independent spirit kept me going.  I won’t deny it was a relief to see Dad at the end of the journey.  Still, being back home in my own space means that I want – need – to assert some independence over things like showering.  My sister has taken over from my aunt but I think I could now manage alone as the pain is much better.

Overall though I feel incredibly blessed.  The fall could have been so much worse – if I’d hit my head or my shoulder or gone down on my hip or my spine badly…I’m lucky it was only a broken elbow.  So a definite think positive on my health!

And my family have rushed to support me so as much as I cherish them, it’s nice to know they cherish me too.

Luckily, the break hasn’t delayed things too much on the make money front as I managed to make email contact from abroad and will have the delayed conversations this week.

The only thing really suffering is my write what I want which…I’m tired!  And achy!  But I am doing some writing and getting used to writing with only one hand!

This entry was posted in 2013 Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

